Terry Griffiths drops into the media centre during the Marco Fu/Judd Trump match glumly reflecting upon the fact that for the first time in the tournament’s 40-year history there is no player representing Wales in the 2014 Dafabet Masters. Over the years the distinguished cast list from the principality featuring in the event has included Ray Reardon, Griffiths himself, Doug Mountjoy, Cliff Wilson, Darren Morgan, Ryan Day, Matthew Stevens and Mark Williams. Reardon, Mountjoy, Griffiths, Stevens and Williams are all former winners. At least the 1979 world champion was present in his capacity as coach, and Paul Collier will be flying the flag in the arena in the final as referee for the showpiece.